Boatbuilding Blog

November 26, 2006

Boat Shed

Filed under: Building - Shed and Prep — tomlarkin @ 7:25 pm

I started the boat shed yesterday. It’d going to be 16′ x 26′. The tent is 13′ x 26′ (actually 4 x 8 meters), so I need to decide what to do with the extra width. In the right-hand photo below, each opening is 4′ x 8′, and each one will have 3 cross-beams to support the decking.  I’m using 3/4″ OSB for the decking because it’s 1/2 the price of plywood. I hope it’s strong enough.

  

Those are double swinging doors on the fence that I added last year. The opening width is 11′, so there should be plenty of room to drag the boat out on completion.

Right now the deck is only approximately level. After I finish framing it in (but before decking) I’ll shim it to be level throughout using my new laser lavel.  I’ll put some more cinder blocks under the places that will bear the most weight.

The boat will be built right on the centerline of the shed, using the plywood seam as a straight edge. I think I’ll screw the stations directly to the deck, without a strongback. The deck will be the strongback. We’ll see…

The tent should get here this week. I’m anxious to see how it looks. I hope it’s solid enough to hold up through two winters.

 

Update Dec 3

FInished the framing and leveled the whole thing with the laser level at dusk last night. I couldn’t see the laser line in the bright daylight.  The tent poles were delayed because of the snow so I hope to get them tomorrow. I’m afraid to fasten down the decking before the tent arrives because I don’t want the OSB to get wet.  I’ve got a dozen cinderblocks under the frame to support it.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

