Boatbuilding Blog

December 22, 2006

Plywood Arrives

Filed under: Building - Shed and Prep — tomlarkin @ 12:42 am

The plywood delivery guys from Edensaw just left, leaving a huge stack of beautiful plywood in the middle of the shop. They promised a morning delivery but finally showed up at 3:30 in the afternoon, but they were friendly and efficient and did all of the unloading themselves. This is 20 sheets of 12 mm Okoume for the hull, and 12 sheets of 18 mm Hydrotek for the bulkkheads. I’ll order the 6 mm bottom sheathing later – this was enough of a sticker shock – $2700.

While waiting for the delivery I worked on the tent, making it more wind-proof and stopping some leaks. It’s in pretty good shape but I need a few warmer dry days to really finish it.

The next step is to build the strongback and set up a scarphing assembly line. Then I can make the hull panels and the bulkheads and start putting it all together. I also need to order the epoxy and look for a dead refridgerator to keep it warm in.

Idea: Devlin generally builds his hulls right-side up without molds, then adds some bulkheads and flips the hull upside downto finish it. Godzilla is different, I assume because of the round stern which needs a form to build it on. It’s built upside-down on bulkheads at each station. When I made my model I made all of the bulkheads full-height, that is, they went all the way to the sheer. Once I flipped it over I ended up cutting all of the bulkheads down to cockpit sole level because I have a walking surface almost all of the way around the boat.  I’d hate to waste that much Hydrotek so I’m thinking of using Hydrotek for the part that will stay in the boat and cheap 3/4 inch ply as a form for for the upper part, or maybe even no bulkheads above the sole. That way the upper hull panels will hang as I attach them to the hull bottom and assume the shape they want to be.  The gunnels will give them their finished strength and shape.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

