Boatbuilding Blog

December 28, 2006

Strongback

Filed under: Building - Before Flipping — tomlarkin @ 6:38 am

The strongback is finished. It’s 2×8 construction on a base of 3 sheets of OSB (oriented-strand board). The OSB is to guarantee squareness. There is a cross-piece at each of the five stations. Later I added a whole bunch of uprights to create a 24 foot long platform to scarph and assemble my hull panels on.  You can see the start of the platform behind the chair below. There will be four hull panels, 2 sides and 2 bottoms. I had initially planned on making eight or ten identical sawhorses, but using the strongback made a stronger, straighter foundation with less material.

Of course, as soon as I made the strongback I had to draw the boat in blue tape and put some chairs in the virtual pilothouse. Instantly all my complicated ideas of how to fit extra seats and storage in the pilothouse disappeared when I saw how small the interior really is.  The whole boat looks very compact and manageable laid out like this. In my mind it had grown huge and complicated.

Working off the plans I drew pictures of all of the plywood panels, showing the bevels. If I’m careful maybe I can make them all without screwing any up. They’re too expensive to waste. The hull will take 14 sheets of 1/2 inch plywood, plus 10 or 11 more 1/4 inch panels for the bottom sheathing and the round laminated stern.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If I don’t need to work all weekend I can start scarphing the plywood so I can begin assembling the long panels on the weekend of January 10. I Looking at the plans...need to buy the epoxy before then. I can’t decide between West System System 3 and the MAS epoxy sold by Joel through Devlin. Devlin will give me a 10% discount on the epoxy because I bought the plans from them.

1 Comment »

  1. “Instantly all my complicated ideas of how to fit extra seats and storage in the pilothouse disappeared when I saw how small the interior really is. The whole boat looks very compact and manageable laid out like this. In my mind it had grown huge and complicated.”

    Hi, I don’t know who you are yet… I haven’t seen a personal profile… maybe I missed it.
    Great blog though. I like the boat too… a mini tug, is it not.

    Regarding the above passage: Isn’t it neat how everything keeps getting larger in your mind’s eye, and then your standing in front of the boat again and you suddenly realize all your grand ideas just won’t fit ! I do this too. I’m not building but, restoring an old (1961) plywood power boat. A 17 footer with a cuddy cabin. I keep coming up with ideas about the seating… how long they will be, how wide, how much room there will be to lounge around… and then I walk into the shop and stand before my boat and think… I’ve gotta think smaller 😦

    Anyway… great site here, keep up the work. The pictures are great too.
    I’ve added a link on my blog to this page, hope you don’t mind.

    Vic
    Vkrue@insightbb.com
    http://vics-little-workshop.blogspot.com/

    Comment by Vic — February 26, 2007 @ 6:00 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

