Boatbuilding Blog

January 15, 2007

First Epoxy!

Filed under: Building - Before Flipping — tomlarkin @ 2:37 am

After all the preparation I finally glued together the two side panels for the boat. This is the first actual boat assembly I’ve done yet so it seems like a big step. It’s been way below freezing all week, with about four inches of snow on the ground. The tent gets warm enough with my two electric heaters and the big propane heater, but I can’t leave the tent with the propane one running. To get the epoxy warm enough to cure I put one heater below the panels and draped tarps over the top to hold in the heat. I hope it works!  I’m tired of weather. I just want the normal drizzle and 50 degrees we’re supposed to have all winter.

The epoxy is late in coming from the MAS factory so Joel Mill bought me three quarts through Fisheries Supply so I wouldn’t lose a weekend of work. That was very nice of him – Devlin  has been great to work with so far.  

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

