Boatbuilding Blog

January 22, 2008

Decking Installed

Filed under: Building - After Flipping — tomlarkin @ 1:00 pm

I finally got the bow and side decks installed last week. It took about 200 stainless deck screws, and lots of putty and resin. Here are the boards dry-fit in place.

Dry-fit deck panels

I traced the supports while the panels were upside-down to act as a glue and screw guide. This picture is before sanding off all of the drips from gluing on the stringers when the hull was upside-down. All surfaces exposed to weather will be covered in at least one coat of 6-oz glass cloth.

Foredeck panel

 

Second panel being coated

I coated the underside of the boards with white-tinted epoxy, and coated the area below the panels also. I’ll paint the areas later, but this makes it bright enough to work under there in the meantime.

 

Then I pre-drilled lots of  screw holes, coated both surfaces with regular epoxy, and slathered on a layer of thickened epoxy as a bedding compound. After screwing down each panel I climbed below and cleaned up the joints with a gloved finger. This helped me tell if I’d used enough bedding on each area. 

Lots of screws!

 

Peel-ply over fillets At the bow,I glassed the fillets and covered them with peel-ply so I can cover the hull sides and the deck at the same time later, without a lot of scrubbing and sanding. This is my first attempt at peel-ply, and it seems to work well.  I seem to spend as much time washing epoxy as applying it!

 

 

 

 

Raised footwellHere’s the raised deck over the foot of the bed.  I made it 6 inches wider than the mattress to make it easier to make the bed. It makes a nice work surface for now. There will need to be a scupper on the lower side deck here, as this will trap water. I think it will be the only visible scupper – all other water will flow to the stern and run out of the motor well scuppers.

 

My next major job is to finish the sheer. I need to sand the tops and insides square, add inside and outside boards, and a 1/2 inch plywood top. Then sand and glass it all. The total width of the rails will be 5 inches, wide enough to step on to get in or to sit on for a while. They also strengthen the whole boat.

2 Comments »

  1. This is nice series, Tom. I like the sequence, the photos..Just a nice feel….pa

    Comment by Joe — March 1, 2008 @ 6:29 am

  2. Thanks for your blog.
    The photos and explanations are great and informative.
    I look forward to following your progress to the launching and beyond.

    Comment by Rufus Pullar — June 1, 2008 @ 12:59 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

