Boatbuilding Blog

June 25, 2009

Work Bench in the Boat

Filed under: Building - After Flipping, Building - Interior — tomlarkin @ 11:51 am

I added this work table last week. It’s just sitting on top of the aft cabin.It’s a good work height, and holds all the stuff I need again and again. Now I don’t have to climb out of the boat so often. I wish I’d done it a long time ago – my knees are feeling the strain of this work. I’ve been building this thing for 2 1/2 years now, almost every weekend, and a couple of nights a week.  The end is in sight though, I just got my last 2 sheets of plywood delivered today, and the interior construction is approaching completion. Now more finish work, priming and painting, electrical, and plumbing.

Work Table

Seat box – the driver and passenger seats go on top of this. The cutout on this side is for binocular storage. The larger one on the far side is to the storage under the stove and sink – for dishes and food. Fresh and grey water tanks, water pump and bilge pump below that.  Batteries and charger go below the sole at the bottom of the picture. I added 3 floors there today to support the weight of the batteries.

Seat box

1 Comment »

  1. I haven’t commented before, but I have been watching your progress off and on since Meryll mentioned your blog. It really looks like it is coming together in a nice way. What a nice way to spend weekends and such. Making something yourself is always fun. You can really be proud of this one!

    Comment by Robin — July 1, 2009 @ 10:17 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

