Boatbuilding Blog

April 18, 2010

Unboxing the Honda

Filed under: Hardware — tomlarkin @ 12:24 pm

The box the motor came in was huge – as wide as the truck bed between the wheel wells, and so long I couldn’t close the tailgate. They loaded it with the help of three guys and a forklift. I was a little concerned about what I would do with it when I got it home. The motor weighs 250 pounds, and the box added at least 50 more.

I opened up the rear of the tent and realized it wasn’t going to fit in the space I had allocated for it, so I had to dismantle my glassing station , and I took the time to drag the old refrigerator to the dump. The fridge had been used to keep my epoxy warm in the winter – I punched a hole in the side and ran a small light inside. It had worked great, but I was done with it.

I slid the box out onto cushions and a couple of empty kitty litter boxes. The boxes crushed in slow motion when the motor landed on them, lowering the motor slowly to the cushions.
IMG_0393

Inside the cardboard box was a welded steel frame, bolted together. The motor mount was bolted to the frame, and encased in molded foam. A very professional packing job!
IMG_0402 

I carefully unbolted everything and moved the motor onto a dolly I made for the purpose – just 4 casters and a sheet of plywood. The motor head is on a cushion . Meryll came out to see if I’d crippled or killed myself yet.
IMG_0405

I went to Home Depot and bought a 12′ foot 2×8 and ran it across the tent above the stern of the boat where the motor needed to go, and made a little truck out of 3 small casters and plywood to ride on top of the beam. Then I rolled the dolly to the right spot and winched the motor up until it was standing up.  The motor has 2 steel hanging loops built in, just for this task.
IMG_0407

Unfortunately, the tent is too low for me to just lift the motor over the side of the boat, so I raised it as high as I could and then lifted the lower unit up over the gunnel. I rolled the truck toward the center of the boat, and lowered the thing into place. The lines are just a safety measure, in case the truck spontaneously disassembled itself.
IMG_0412

Lowering the motor into place, I realized the boat was too low for it to go down all the way so I cut out a chunk of the floor for the bottom of the motor to drop into.
IMG_0416 

I clamped the motor mount into place and drilled the four mounting holes, the moved the motor out of the way to coat the holes with neat epoxy. Tomorrow I mount the thing!
IMG_0418

2 Comments »

  1. Good photos, thanks. It looks like you are getting pretty close to seeing if it floats…

    Are you thinking of trucking it to the docks on the north side of the Shipping Canal?

    Where will it live long-term?

    Comment by UR — April 18, 2010 @ 10:14 pm

    • It’s going to stay at our current moorage in Kenmore, at the very North end of Lake Washington. I’m trying to sell our runabout that’s in the space now.

      I have no idea yet how or where I’m going to launch it. Should probably start thinking about that. 🙂

      Comment by tomlarkin — April 19, 2010 @ 10:17 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

