Boatbuilding Blog

August 18, 2010

The Perils of Owning a Character Boat

Filed under: Building - Considerations — tomlarkin @ 1:09 pm

The original Godzilla 25, the Donna B, is up for sale again. This boat was built by Devlin, but finished by the owner. It’s been for sale for most of the last 2.5 years or more. This time they are asking $125,000. The last time I saw it, they wanted $69,000. It was for sale originally 30 months ago for $137,500.

Donna B   Coot

I think the Donna B is too busy. There’s too much detail and too many items on the boat. I have trouble seeing the boat under the detailing.  I tried very hard to keep the finish on my boat very plain (except for the paint job anyway). The boat itself is inherently too cute enough without adding more. I’ve had a dozen people tell me I need bow pudding and rope fenders. I’m trying to fight the temptation of adding extraneous stuff.

This brings up a couple of interesting ideas about such specialized boats. One – how do you price something that’s so unique?  I think the temptation is to ask way too much because it would cost that much to replace. The other question is – who would buy this boat? It’s too slow for young people, too small to take kids aboard, and doesn’t have enough amenities for older people. The Donna B has no sink or stove, a porta-potty in the pilothouse, and the bed looks pretty small and hard to get into. My boat avoids some of those issues, but has others, like very little outside space. It would still be really hard to sell for anything like I think it’s worth.

1 Comment »

  1. Tom

    I tend to agree with you. As my dad always used to say “decorate the construction, don’t construct the decoration”.

    Comment by Mark — August 18, 2010 @ 9:11 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

