Boatbuilding Blog

April 24, 2012

May Day Trip–Port Angeles to Victoria

Filed under: Longer Trips — tomlarkin @ 12:19 pm

It was kind of spooky leaving Post Angeles. It was chilly, with a little fog in the area, and a large bank of it just to the west. Eighteen miles of actual ocean – not the enclosed spaces I’m used to.  The crossing was uneventful though,  and a bit boring with nothing to look at. The fog came in behind me and hid the US shore, with only the tops of the Olympics poking out. The Victoria ferry left just after I did, and passed so quickly it was soon out of sight in the haze. I got across before noon and had the day to explore the town. There’s so much to do here that I’m going to stay another day. See some museums and go for a bike ride.

MV Coho leaving Port Angeles on the way to Victoria:
DSC_0004

And passing me by at 19 knots:
DSC_0006

There were a of big ships on the Straits. The AIS really helped me know which ones were the dangerous ones – shown as black triangles:
2012-04-23_08-47-44_513

Victoria on the way in:
DSC_0035

I checked in through customs by phone. They were very pleasant. Then I asked for a slip at the Causeway Floats. They gave me a nice parking spot:
2012-04-23_Empress

The view from my porthole:
DSC_0205

I spent the rest of the day just wandering around town. It seems to be summer here:
2012-04-23_13-28-21_296

Inside the Empress:
2012-04-23_13-31-24_23

They do lights very nicely too:
DSC_0004

Parliament buildings:
DSC_0002 (2)

1 Comment »

  1. […] Read Original Story at: Boatbuilding Blog […]

    Pingback by May Day Trip–Port Angeles to Victoria | | messing-about.commessing-about.com — May 5, 2012 @ 1:00 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

