Boatbuilding Blog

May 24, 2013

Vancouver, BC

Filed under: Longer Trips — tomlarkin @ 8:12 am

I’m sitting in the New Oxford Public House in trendy Yaletown, which is the closest dinghy dock from where I’m anchored. I’m here for the rosemary garlic fries and the free wifi (password ‘amazingfood’). They have hockey on all the TV’s.   I spent the morning washing clothes, and this afternoon walked across Vancouver from False Creek to the downtown waterfront, and back. My feet hurt!

(BTW: Canadian bills are cool – smooth plastic with clear section and holograms. Shiny!)

The view from my table. These establishments are in old warehouses, and the fronts are all 4 feet above the street on the original loading docks.
 WP_20130523_011

I’m right next to Granville Island Public Market. I stopped for coffee on the way to the  marina to wash my clothes. WP_20130523_009 WP_20130523_010

Seabus  in front of Granville Market.
WP_20130523_006

Coming into town yesterday afternoon. I wanted to go up the Fraser river, but there was an outgoing current of 6 knots, which is my fastest speed, so I spent 45 minutes staying in one place before giving up and heading straight here.
WP_20130522_006

This is where I anchored.
WP_20130522_015

Cute critters in the park.
WP_20130522_025

Meryll is planning on coming up this weekend. I’m working on places to take her. Should be fun!

1 Comment »

  1. I liked the picture of the sea bus which I believe is actually a Jay Benford design which is highlighted in one of his books and would make a great liveboard boat with the right interior.

    Comment by Mark — June 9, 2013 @ 2:28 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

