Boatbuilding Blog

June 3, 2013

Nanaimo

Filed under: Longer Trips — tomlarkin @ 11:30 pm

I could imagine living in Nanaimo. It’s a real city (second-largest on Vancouver Island, after Victoria), but feels very accessible, with lots of restaurants and little stores. It’s also got an amazing waterfront and some great parks. It reminds me of an upscale Bellingham.  I’ve spent two nights here. Today I rode my bike all around town, which is very hilly.

I thought these guys were pulling me over as I entered the harbor, but they went on past. my favorite colors!
 DSC_0094

They are giving me the eyeball on the way past.
image

Newcastle Island is a beautiful park, and protects the harbor on the North. The city in the background.
WP_20130601_001

They used to quarry grindstones here (as well as coal, which gave the island it’s name). Some remnants.
WP_20130601_003

The harbor has a row-up floating pub.
image

I found some old totem poles rotting away quietly in a park.
WP_20130602_008

An eagle holding a fish.
WP_20130602_009

I ended the day with a salad and a burger, and a beer.
WP_20130602_013

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

