Boatbuilding Blog

June 12, 2013

Back to the US (Day 27 –28)

Filed under: Longer Trips — tomlarkin @ 3:34 am

I left Victoria early on Monday and crossed Haro Striaght on a nice calm day. I motored slowly up the south side of San Juan Island looking for Orcas, but no luck. Customs in Roche Harbor was uneventful. I had a nice lunch there and went to Jones Island where I anchored out for the night. I rowed around the point and beached the dinghy and walked the trails in the evening. Tuesday has been a lot of slow meandering around the Wasp Islands, gas in Deer harbor, and now a late lunch in the Orcas Hotel at the ferry dock, where I am now. They have Alaskan Amber and wifi – the two necessities for blogging.

Tonight I’ll anchor in Alex Bay on the rocky south end of Lopez Island and, if the weather holds,  cross the Straights of Juan De Fuca to Port Townsend in the morning. My trip is almost over.

Before crossing Haro Straight I stopped for coffee in Oak Bay, a suburb of Victoria, and found this nice garden. The beds of flowers are raised up so you don’t have to bend over too far to sniff them.
WP_20130610_001

Surrounded by white plastic in Roche harbor.
WP_20130610_008

Jones Island evening.
WP_20130610_011

Orcas Hotel. The view from my seat as I type.
WP_20130611_001

2 Comments »

  1. Based in England [the original one, not “New England”!], I am enjoying reading your blog.

    Thank you.

    Comment by robertwarner — June 12, 2013 @ 6:44 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

